Types of Soil in India | Classification of Indian soils


The major classification of Indian soils

According to ICAR (Indian Council of Agricultural Research) soils are divided into 8 categories. they are:

  1. Alluvial soil [43%]
  2. Red soil [18.5%]
  3. Black / regur soil [15%]
  4. Arid/desert soil
  5. Laterite soil
  6. Peaty Soil
  7. Forest soil
  8. mountain soil

Alluvial soil:

The most common soil in India (about 43%) covers an area of ​​143 km. It is widespread in the northern plains and river valleys. The new alluvium is called Khadarand the old alluvium is called Bhangar.

Color: Light gray in Ash Gray.

Fabric: It is sand to Silam loam or clay.

Red soil:

It is especially noticeable in low rainfall. Also known as the Omnibus group.

Color: Red due to Ferric oxide. The bottom layer is red or yellow.

Texture: It is sandy and loamy.

Black soil/regur soil:

Regur means cotton – the best soil for growing cotton. Most Deccans live in Dark soil. Cultivation is a feature of black soil as it grows wide cracks when dried.

Color: Deep dark to light-dark.

Recent soil:

The word comes from the Latin word ‘Later’ which means Brick. It is soft when wet and firm when dried. In areas with high temperatures and high rainfall.

Color: Red color due to iron oxide.

Desert / dry soil:

Seen under Arid and Semi-Arid conditions.

Color: Red to Brown.

Text: Sandy

Peaty / wet soil:

Areas of heavy rainfall and high humidity Plant growth is very low.

Forest soil:

Rainfall regions. Humus content is low so the soil is acidic.

Mountain soil:

In the mountainous regions of the country. Unripe soil with low and acidic humus.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here